5 interesting facts about lagos, Nigeria

 5 interesting facts about lagos, Nigeria

The largest metropolis in Nigeria, Lagos, extends inland from the Gulf of Guinea and over Lagos Lagoon. The city's financial center, Victoria Island, is also known for its beach resorts, boutiques, and nightlife. On Lagos Island, the National Museum Lagos houses a variety of artifacts and handicrafts from diverse cultures. Nearby lies Freedom Park, a decommissioned prison from the colonial era that is now a prominent venue for community gatherings and concerts.

The largest and most significant financial center is still Lagos.
Lagos is well-known for its nightlife, activities, and beach resorts and is the sixth-largest city in the world by population.

One of Nigeria's 36 states is Lagos State. Lagos is the most populous and important financial hub in the country while being the smallest state.

These megacity statistics, some of which you may already be aware of, are provided.

1. The tallest building in West Africa is there.

The tallest building in West Africa, the NECOM House Towers, is situated in Lagos State and stands 160 meters above the city.

2. At 11.8 kilometers, the Third Mainland Bridge, which connects Lagos Island to the mainland, held the record for the longest bridge in Africa until 1996. The bridge, which was built by Julius Berger Nigeria Plc, is officially known as the Ibrahim Babangida Bridge.

3. Lagos oversees 80% of the country's imports.

Lagos is the primary port of entry for goods into Nigeria. 80 percent of imports into Nigeria are handled by the Lagos port, which is located on the country's southwest coast.

Additionally, this port is considered to be among the top ten in all of Africa.

4. Lagos was formerly known as Eko before the arrival of the Europeans. It served as a major hub for the slave trade, which the then-Oba of Benin Ado and all of his forefathers encouraged for more than four decades, until Oba Akitoye's attempt to abolish the activity in 1841 after assuming the throne of Lagos.

The planned action was vehemently challenged by local businesspeople, who then deposed the king and installed Akitoye's brother Kosoko as the new oba.

5. Lagos remained the nation's capital after Nigeria gained independence from Britain in 1960. Lagos was the capital of Nigeria from 1914 to 1991, when Abuja became the Federal Capital Territory.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post